Summary: Emails that look like a critical update from Microsoft are scams. We'll look at exactly what makes the scam obvious.
I recently received a "Critical Update" notification for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express in my email. I'd not gotten these before, so I wanted to double check. What should I do?
•
Delete that email immediately, and ignore any more copies you'll likely get.
Malware authors are constantly looking for ways to fool us into clicking on their links. Since I also got the same email, I'll use it as an example of what to look for.
•
Here's the email in question:
From: "Microsoft Customer Support" <no-reply@microsoft.com>
Subject: Microsoft has released an update for Microsoft Outlook
Critical Update
Update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express (KB910721)
Brief Description
Microsoft has released an update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express. This
update is critical and provides you with the latest version of the Microsoft
Outlook / Outlook Express and offers the highest levels of stability and
security.
Instructions
To install Update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express (KB910721) please
visit Microsoft Update Center:
http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftofficeupdate/isapdl/default.aspx?ln=en-us&id=4073213066266196307501839191291857099795707196499436900323714412165512
Quick Details
File Name: officexp-KB910721-FullFile-ENU.exe
Version: 1.4
Date Published: Mon, 22 Jun 2009 15:17:14 -0500
Language: English
File Size: 81 KB
System Requirements
Supported Operating Systems: Windows 2000; Windows 98; Windows ME; Windows NT; Windows Server 2003; Windows XP; Windows Vista
This update applies to the following product: Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express
Contact
Us
© 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us | Terms of Use | Trademarks | Privacy Statement
Here's the problem:
It's Totally Bogus
That link that looks like it goes to "http://update.microsoft.com/..."? In the email it looks like that, but if you click on it your browser will really go to "http://update.microsoft.com.ilkihi.com/...". See how there's an extra domain in the URL that's not in the URL that you click on?
That's the single biggest clue that this is a scam. Click on it, and you'll likely take a virus, or be the victim of some other kind of scam - particularly if you accept and install the download.
What scam artists have done is create an email that looks as much as possible like an official email from Microsoft. They've probably even copy/pasted from a real Microsoft email or web page to get the look and feel just right. Many of the other links in that email might happen to be correct, and take you to the corresponding page on Microsoft's web site. That's even a legitimate Knowledgebase identifier, though the real article has nothing to do with what the email claims.
What they're counting on is enough people blindly assuming that the email is legitimate, and clicking on the download link because they think they need this "update".
How do you protect yourself?
Realize that Microsoft never distributes updates via email. Not as a an attachment, and not even as instructions to download.
Never click on links in email that you didn't expect, or aren't 100% certain about. Never. Remember, even the technique of hovering over a link to see where it "really" goes can also many times be spoofed - you can't trust even that.
Always keep your machine up to date. If it's updates you want, then enable Windows Automatic Updates, or visit Windows Update yourself. It's also a great way to check out the legitimacy of emails like this: if you visit Windows Update, you'll be notified there if you do indeed need some update.
I'm seeing this scam more and more often, so please - be careful, and watch where you click.
Related:
Why does my email program think that this message might be a scam? Occasionally, security software examines links in email and alerts you if something is suspicious. Frequently, as in my newsletter, it's totally benign.
Phishing? What's Phishing? Phishing is a way that internet scammers trick you into providing your personal and financial details. Phishing opens the door to identity theft, and more.
Did I really just win an email lottery or sweepstakes? We all receive emails that indicate we've won several different lotteries. Are any of these winning notifications valid? I'll review what to look for.
Article C3770 - June 22, 2009
The full scam addres should not have been posted here, I tried it and ot something called bing came up. It had a few Microsft fake downloads. I them closed the window, no harm, since I did not click on any downloads.
I'm not sure exactly which link you're talking about, but Bing is not a scam and not fake. Bing.com is Microsoft's new search engine.
24-Jun-2009
Posted by: steven at June 23, 2009 3:49 PM
I appreciate the timeliness and info re: Microsoft E-mail updates. Blindly, I did just as you recommended and deleted it. When I tried to go to Microsoft "Updates" to see if my computer was current, I could not get there-- always being interrupted by the message, "Install the ActiveX control req'd to view the web site". It continues with instructions to right click on the -- whatever-- and I have no ActiveX icon. The alternate solution produces the original message to install. Any solutions-- seems I'm locked out of Microsoft help?
Posted by: Jim F at June 30, 2009 8:37 AMOK, so what if you take the bait? Does running Malicious Software Removal Tool, as well as a full system AV scan help?
01-Jul-2009
Posted by: Jerry at June 30, 2009 9:08 AM
OK, I bit on it. How can I tell if anyting bad happened to my PC?
Posted by: Jay Pursell at June 30, 2009 10:08 AMMicrosoft recently sent an email entittled "Important info for Hotmail customers on Outlook, Outlook® Express, or Entourage" That email had a link to download Windows Live Mail and various other links including instructions if the user wanted to continue using Outlook Express or the other programs mentioned.
The email states that Microsoft is changing the way email programs access Hotmail effective 9/1/2009.
This email was legitimate even though I took the precaution of downloading Windows Live Mail directly from Miscroft's website rather than following the link in the email. I post this to show that Microsoft has posted instructions for downloading in an email, at least on this occasion.
Posted by: Nigel Broder at June 30, 2009 12:38 PMHI, if I suspect an address I've been asked to click on, I just hover the mouse above it and see what appears in the line at the bottom of the screen. If it is not the same as was given in the email I know there is something wrong so I don't click on it.
best wishes
Margaret
01-Jul-2009
Posted by: margaret luck at June 30, 2009 1:47 PM
Ok. So imagine I never got to this site how do I get rid of the problem, and does it affect outlook
The full scam addres should not have been posted here,
WHY do you think I would be daft to put it in the address bar and press enter
Posted by: John Heaps at July 1, 2009 11:11 AMthe give away for me was the first of these I got wasn't to my exact email address!!! (ie it was to ****@ukgateway.net)
Posted by: anthea dore at October 26, 2009 4:17 AM