Helping people with computers... one answer at a time.
Reinstalling Windows erases and overwrites the data on your machine. Recovering it is difficult, if not impossible.
Hi, Leo. I need your help as I'm in big trouble as I'm having a Compaq laptop and while doing recovery of my laptop to factory default through its discs, which I got from HP, my hard disk got formatted and as a result, my 250 GB of crucial information seems to be lost as while installing another Windows on the disk partition free space that shows 250 GB only. Please help me out on how to proceed further to recover my crucial data. I would be very obliged to you.
In this excerpt from Answercast #15, I look at a scenario where crucial data has been deleted during an accidental reinstallation of Windows. A backup would have saved the day.
So, this one is a tough one. The short answer is: chances are highly unlikely that you will be able to recover anything from that machine.
However, what I would suggest you do immediately in a case like this is:
A) Stop using the machine: because the more you use the machine, the more any data that might still be there is going to be overwritten and unrecoverable.
B) I would then either take the hard disk to a data recovery expert or install the hard disk in an external USB enclosure connected up to a different computer that's working, and start running tools like Recuva on it.
Recuva will look in the unallocated space that remains on the hard disk and try to locate any files that were on the hard disk before it was formatted.
It's unlikely that this will be successful; it could recover some stuff (don't get me wrong), but I think that you'll in the long run end up being very disappointed.
Depending on how the disk was formatted, it is possible that everything was overwritten.
When you installed Windows (when Windows started those files that comprise this new version of Windows; this recovery that you did through factory defaults), all those files that were copied on to the hard disk probably overwrote the information that was there.
Now, obviously, that didn't fill up the entire hard disk, which is why there's a possibility some of your files could still be there. The files that have been overwritten (unless you're willing to spend a boatload of money on recovery) are lost and gone forever.
One of the reasons that I'm taking this question and posting it publicly is that this is a classic case of having your data in one and only one place.
You were not backed up.
Restoring to factory defaults by definition erases everything on your hard disk. So that was just a conceptual mistake that was made in this process
But you didn't even have to make a mistake! If that hard disk had died, then all of your information on it would have been lost forever as well.
Regardless of whether or how much data you can recover from this scenario, I hope that you will learn from this and that others will learn from the example.
Copy it somewhere else and I don't mean another hard disk in the same machine. I mean another place - an external hard disk, another computer, online.
I honestly don't care. Just so that it's copied; there's a copy of your important data somewhere else. If it's really that crucial as you put it, then it's worth backing up.
End of Answercast #15 Back to - Audio Segment
Comments on this entry are closed.
If you have a question, start by using the search box up at the top of the page - there's a very good chance that your question has already been answered on Ask Leo!.
If you don't find your answer, head out to http://askleo.com/ask to ask your question.