Helping people with computers... one answer at a time.
Gorbs is a black-listing email service and it could black-list your email accidentally.
What is 'denied by gorbs' in bounced email?
•
An email bounce is the message you get back when, for one reason or another, your email cannot be delivered as you've requested.
Bounce messages are often cryptic but typically include important details of why the message couldn't be delivered. "Denied by gorbs" is relatively new and particularly cryptic.
•
As best I've been able to determine, gorbs is a fairly new email spam black-listing service.
What this means is that your recipient's ISP is using this blacklist to filter out SPAM. Somehow your email domain (the part after the "@" in your email address), or the IP address of your ISP's mail server has probably been placed on the gorbs blacklist.
Assuming you're not a spammer, what this means to you is that you need to attempt to contact your recipient or your recipient's ISP to get off the list or to get whitelisted. The problem is, since you're blacklisted, your regular email won't get through. You'll need to use another method to contact them. Either a different email address or server or perhaps even picking up the telephone.
Article C2193 - October 1, 2004
Before www.tantricmemory.com could ever be launched, listed on a single url, or ever be seen by anyone, I received an intimadating E-mail from Bellsouth that I had been "Gorbed"! This guy Lars, in connection w/ Bellsouth, is running a nasty McCarthy-like scam. He's a crook. It seems it cost big bucks to get ungorbed! The proof of this is that he didn't wait long enough for the baby to be born - before pouncing on his next Bellsouth meal/victim.
Posted by: Hank Wilcox at June 16, 2005 12:45 PMDirect confirmation that GORBS is maintained by Verio. They were helpful in getting my issue cleared. Cliff...
-----Original Message-----
From: Chris [mailto:support@verio-hosting.com]
Sent: Friday, June 24, 2005 12:38 PM
To: Clifford Kaiser
Subject: Re: [IDS-7937079] [AB-C2385619Z] Blacklist
Cliff,
Yes, we maintain the GORBS database. The database is a list of IP addresses that were tested to be an Open Relay. You will need to find out the IP address of the SMTP server that is getting these errors.
Chris
Posted by: Cliff Kaiser at June 24, 2005 12:43 PMVerio Abuse Team
I sent an email to abuse@verio.net, and we were removed within 3 hours. I was very pleased with the response.
Posted by: Scott at August 25, 2005 8:59 AMI agree with Scott. I did the same, and received an eMail from Chris of Verio Abuse Team within 5 hours:
Posted by: Tobias Maul at September 16, 2005 1:02 AM"I have re-tested the mail server at xxx.x.xxx.xx and found that it is no longer an Open Relay. I have removed xxx.x.xxx.xx from our gorbs database"
Hi, just a note. I am the president of GORBS Corp. which has NO AFFILIATION with Gorbs blacklist. We are a Graphic Art company based on Long Island in NY. The address is www.gorbs.com and the business number is 988-2604 - if you are given this address and number for the purpose of getting "un-blacklisted" please disregard it as I get numerous calls and emails a week about it and have nothing to do with it.
Thanks,
Posted by: Ron Smith at July 22, 2006 1:26 PMRon Smith
Pres.
Gorbs Corp.